top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: Much Ado About You by Samantha Young

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

“I knew Roane. I knew that it would never just be sex for him. He wasn’t that guy. And he didn’t look at me like a guy who just wanted one thing.”


Much Ado About You is a heart-warming stand-alone romance novel by Samantha Young.


When thirty-three-years old Evangeline Starling's is passed over for promotion at work, she realises she needs to make a change. In a burst of impulsivity, she plans a holiday in a quaint English village. The holiday package comes with a temporary position at Much Ado About Books, the bookstore located beneath her rental apartment.

Not only is Evie swept up in running the store as soon as she arrives, she's drawn into the lives, loves and drama of the friendly villagers. Including Roane Robson, the charismatic and sexy farmer who tempts Evie every day with his friendly flirtations. Evie is determined to keep him at bay because a holiday romance can only end in heartbreak, right?


But Evie can't deny their connection and longs to trust in her handsome farmer that their whirlwind romance could turn in to the forever kind of love.


“I don’t want you, or anyone, to wake up in ten, twenty years’ time, and wonder what could have been. Such benign little words – ‘what if’. But at some point in life, those two words become the scariest two words in the English language.”

I am a massive fan of Samantha Young’s work and I really enjoyed Much Ado About You.


I loved the premise, and honestly wish I could go on holiday to England and run a small-town bookshop.


I liked the chemistry between Roane and Evie and getting to see how their relationship progressed


“I’d never actually believed I’d meet the love of my life. Deep down, I thought it was a fairy tale that other people got to live. It made me breathless to realize I’d been wrong. I found him. I found my one.”

I did find the book lacked the usual essence I have come to expect from Samantha Young’s books. I couldn’t quite put my finger on just what it was, although I sometimes thought the characters seemed a bit underdeveloped, but I unfortunately did not love Much Ado About You nearly as much as I have enjoyed most of her books in the past.


In saying that, I do think Much Ado About You is an enjoyable, light hearted book that I would still recommend.


I did enjoy the way Samantha Young described the village and was able to make it come to life in my mind as I read.


“I am yours until I'm nothing but dust in the wind. Maybe even then.”

Much Ado About You is due to release on February 2nd 2021.


Purchase:


Want To Connect With Me?

I can be found fangirling about books in the following places:






Comments


bottom of page