top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: Black Tangled Heart by Samantha Young

Updated: Mar 25, 2021


I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Black Tangled Heart is an electric, angst filled novel by Samantha Young.

To Jamie, Jane was everything.

Until their world fell apart.

Jamie thought their love would hold them together, yet Jane abandons him when he needs her the most.

Vowing revenge on everyone who played a part in destroying his world, Jamie won’t be pardoning Jane from his plan.


The third novel in the Play On series, each book is written as a stand-alone, Black Tangled Heart was a thrilling and entertaining novel.


“Skye warned me that needing someone the way I needed Jane would only cause sorrow in the end. She was right. Because I wanted that feeling of peace back. I wanted another taste. And I was afraid I might do anything for it. Something stupid. Something that would ruin everything.”

I love a good enemies-to-lovers plot and I adored that aspect of Black Tangled Heart. The angst and rivalry between Jamie and Jane as adults was such an exciting contrast between the sweet relationship they had as teenagers.

Black Tangled Heart starts in the past, showing how Jamie and Jane met and fell in love, before jumping to the present about half way through the book, when they’re adults after their falling out. I loved being able to see how they met and grew close made the angst between them later that much more explosive.

“I don’t need you to care about me anymore. I don’t need you or Asher or Lorna to want me, to love me. I don’t need to hide behind a name my adoptive parents gave me because I grieve for the life that should have been mine. I should stop living in a fantasy world.”

I did find that because it was split into the two parts, past and present, that when it got to the second half and everything started to really get underway it made it seem like it ended really quickly. I think if the chapters set in the past had been sprinkled throughout the novel rather than all right at the beginning that the pacing would have been a little smoother and well-paced.

However, that didn’t stop me from loving this book.

I adored Black Tangled Heart, particularly Jamie and Jane. I loved how their relationship progressed, and the chemistry they shared was explosive.



Purchase: Exclusive to Kindle Unlimited program.

Amazon US | Amazon AU | Amazon UK (Unavailable at time of posting)


 

Want To Connect With Me?

I can be found fangirling about books in the following places:




1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page