top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: A Bond in Flames by Sherilee Gray

Updated: Jul 31

I received an advanced copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.



"There is no escape and nowhere to hide. Running is pointless. I will always find you."


A Bond in Flames is a great ending to a fantastic series.


I’ve been counting down the days until A Bond In Flames releases and I was so lucky to get an ARC and read it early and loved every second of it.


A Bond in Flames is the sixth and final book in the paranormal romance series The Thornheart Trials by Sherilee Gray, which has been one of my favourite series since I read the first book, A Curse in Darkness, back in 2021.


No one escapes Death. Especially when you're his consort.


Zinnia Thornheart has struck a bargain with Death that allows her to travel between home and limbo, until her younger sisters 21st Birthday which is rapidly approaching. She thought she had more time, except now everything has changed. Now he's no longer ignoring her, now he's demanding all her attention, but the unpredictable god can't decide if he desires or despises her.


Suddenly she's forced to journey with him to the Night Realm to save his brother, all while being swarmed with visions she can't explain and must uncover secrets Death won't share.


As Zinnia races to uncover the truth, she must fight her way back to death, or face an evil that could tear apart her world.


"Death seemed to be in the midst of some fucked-up metamorphosis, from a cloak-wearing, staff-thumping, rage-fueled monster to what stood before me now. He was all god, there was no mistaking it, but at times like this, there was a humanness to him that took me off guard."


I adored every minute of Death & Zinnia’s story; packed with a fresh and enticing plot, captivating characters, and steamy romance (oh man, Death certainly has a way with words 🔥🔥) and I quite literally couldn't put it down until I'd finished it.


I loved Zinnia’s never back down attitude, and that she gave as good as she got when Death got dark and moody.


"I would meet him barb for barb. You gave Death an inch? Well, I didn’t want to know what him taking a mile entailed."


As well as how protective Death was of Zinnia, how he worshipped her, and how ready & willing he was to kill anyone or anything that looked at her wrong.


"She thought I was the one in control, that I controlled her, but nothing could be further from the truth—I was her servant. She was my queen, and I would worship at her feet until the end of time. All she had to do was trust me. Believe in me. Stay with me. Want me."


While The Thornheart Trials is a series of interconnected stand alones, with each book based on another member of the Thornheart sisters, along with their cousins Jasmine & Zinnia, I would recommend reading the first five books in the series to fully understand and enjoy A Bond In Flames.


A Bond In Flames releases July 26th and I cannot recommend it enough.


And now I’ll start counting down the days until Bad Demon, the first book in the spin off series Hell on Wheels, releases later this year because I’m not ready to say goodbye to this world & am so keen to see more of Relic & the other Hellhounds.




Purchase:





Want To Connect With Me?

I can be found fangirling about books in the following places:

 


If you enjoyed this post/review and are in the position to do so, please consider supporting me on Ko-fi



Commentaires


bottom of page