top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: The Simple Wild by K.A Tucker

Updated: Jun 24, 2020


‘What if I came to Alaska and somehow found the Dad I’d always wanted despite his many flaws, despite the fact that he all but abandoned me so many years ago, only to lose him again?’


I've been a fan of K.A Tucker's books for a while now and I’m glad to say that The Simple Wild did not disappoint.

Calla Fletcher wasn’t even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the extreme isolation and rural lifestyle, she also left behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher.


At twenty-six, Calla has never looked back, Toronto is all she’s ever known. When she receives word that her father’s days may be numbered, Calla packs her bags and makes the trip to Bangor, Alaska to try to reconnect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for.


While she struggles to adjust to the rugged Alaskan environment, Jonah - the unkempt and obnoxious bush pilot who helps run her father’s charter plan company – can’t imagine living anywhere else.


As antagonism grows into friendship, and friendship grows into something more, Calla is faced with a big decision: stay and risk repeating her parents’ mistakes, or return to her life in Toronto and forget about Jonah.


I really enjoyed the snarky banter between Jonah and Calla and how naturally their relationship developed and deepened over time, and become an incredibly sweet and supportive relationship.


‘Reaching up, I let my nails skate over his biceps a few times before gripping his arms tightly, returning the embrace. “I’m glad you’re here,” I whisper. I can’t imagine facing this without him.
He folds in closer, tighter, until I’m cocooned within him, the hard press of his collarbone all the way to his thighs conforming to my body. I can feel him growing hard against my back, and yet he doesn’t make a move to try to satisfy that need.
I think he’s too busy satisfying another.
We simply stand there, holding each other until the water turns cold.’

I loved how Tucker was able to paint such a vivid picture of what life would be like living in a small and secluded Alaskan town. I admire the amount of research that would have been required to create such a strong and convincing novel.


‘Life up here may be simple but it’s not easy, and it’s not for everyone. Water runs out; pipes freeze; engines won’t start; it’s dark for eighteen, nineteen hours a day, for months. Even longer in the far north. Up here it’s about having enough food to eat, and enough heat to stay alive through the winter. It’s about survival, and enjoying the company of the people that surround us. It’s not about whose house is the biggest, or who has the nicest clothes, or the most money. We support each other because we’re all in this together.’

I also adored the way Calla's emotional journey to reconnect with her sick father developed, from an awkward and strained relationship, having not seen each other since Calla was almost 2 years old, to a loving and close father/daughter bond- however bitter sweet there reunion became.


I think it’s safe to say that The Simple Wild is my new favourite K.A Tucker novel, and one of the best books I’ve read this year.


I laughed and cried my way through this heartwarming and ardent story about the importance of love, family, and how sometimes it’s important to step outside your comfort zone. I loved every minute of The Simple Wild and didn’t put it down until I’d read the very last word.



Purchase:



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • TikTok
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page