top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: The Queen by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: Mar 24, 2021

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

“I could never risk the world. Not even for love.”

A fantastic chemistry packed addition to The Wicked Trilogy, The Queen follows the events of the two novellas, The Prince, and The King and is a book I’ve been dying to read.

Bestowed the forbidden Summer’s Kiss by the King of the Summer fae, Brighton Jussier is no longer just human. What she is, what she will become, no one knows for sure, but that isn’t her biggest concern at the moment.

Now Caden, the King, refuses to let her go, even at the cost of his Court. When the doorway to the Otherworld is breached, both Brighton and Caden must do the unthinkable to save themselves and mankind from a terrible evil that threatens the world.

“I’d always dreamed about the kind of love where someone was willing to risk everything. I never thought I’d be on the receiving end of it, but I wanted it—wanted it so damn badly. But was that kind of love worth everything?”

I was so excited to finally see Brighton get her HEA particularly after watching her mostly on the sidelines in the Wicked Trilogy, to taking the lead in the novella’s she has become one of my favourite Jennifer L Armentrout heroines.

After the surprising and sudden way The King ended, I have been so impatient to read The Queen and I am pleased to say it has not disappointed.

Brighton and Caden have so much chemistry I thought I iPad might just spontaneously combust while reading, but beyond that they also have an amazing partnership.

“I love you, Brighton. I know I fell in love with you before we even spoke to one another. That love only deepened when I saw how strong and resilient you became. When I learned how incredibly intelligent and generous you are.”

I will say I was expecting more of the novella to focus on the risk of the gate being opened and the blurb did seem to reinforce that idea, but the main focus was on Brighton and Caden’s relationship- which I didn’t mind because I love them both so much but does make me think that there might be another book or spin off happening when that danger will be confronted, but that could just be my wishful thinking because I am not ready to say goodbye to these characters.

While you don’t need to have read the main books form the Wicked Trilogy, I would recommend reading The Prince and The King before reading The Queen just to understand everything that has happened prior to the events of this book.

The Queen is a marvellous ending to Brighton’s story and I cannot recommend it enough.




Purchase:


 

Want To Connect With Me?

I can be found fangirling about books in the following places:




10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • TikTok
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page