top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: Repeat by Kylie Scott

I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

“Who are you when all of your formative moments are gone?”


Repeat is a stunning and steamy second chance romance (with a bit of enemies to lovers) novel by Kylie Scott.


Originally released in January as an Audible Exclusive, Repeat is now available in paperback and eBook formats.


After a vicious attack leaves Clementine Johns with no memory, she’s forced to start over and try to come to terms with who she used to be., and why she made the choices she did. Choices like leaving her supposed love of her life, tattoo artist Ed Larsen only a month before the attack.


Ed can hardly believe when his ex shows up at his tattoo parlour with no memory of their past and asking about the breakup that nearly destroyed him.


The last thing Ed needs is more heartache, but he can’t seem to let her go again.


Should they walk away for good, or does their love deserve a repeat performance?


“Why do I have to deal with the fallout from a relationship I don’t even remember being a part of?” “Just plain dumb luck, I guess.” “It’s not fair. And I don’t want to be attracted to him either. It’s inconvenient.” Frances laughs. “No time for romance in your planner?” “Hardly. What do I even have to plan? When to clean the toilet next? My life sucks.”

I love Kylie Scott’s books and I was so desperate to read Repeat I brought the audiobook (my first audio book ever) just so I wouldn’t have to wait the 3 or so months for it to release as a paperback/eBook. I have mixed feelings about audio books, generally because I have trouble maintaining concentration and not letting my mind wander. This isn’t a problem when I’m reading because if your mind wanders the book stays on the same page, but with audio, the narrator keeps narrating and before you know it you’ve missed key information.


Despite this, I truly did enjoy the audio book of Repeat but I’ve still been dying to read it with my eyes and I jumped at the chance to receive an ARC.


I absolutely loved it.


The characters are so charismatic and I loved the chemistry between Clem and Ed,


First pressing his warm lips to my cheek, my jaw, even my chin. The salty, musky scent of sweat and man is a wonderful high. “Ed, that’s not my mouth. Do you need a map?” “You’re so impatient,” he mumbles, bussing my cheek with his nose. The feel of his breath on my face, of him being right there . . . holy shit.

As well as how well balanced the second chance romance trope was with the ‘enemies to lovers’ themes. I’m a huge fan of both tropes so getting the two in one amazingly written book was a huge highlight for me.


The dry humour and wit that’s added weaved throughout the novel made Repeat and entertaining read and had me loving it even more.


“Go to work. I’ll be okay. If it is the same person, at least they seem to be sort of de-escalating. Perhaps next time they’ll just send me a sternly worded letter.” “Glad you’ve still got your sense of humor, but I’m not ready to laugh about this yet.” Iris, however, is good to go. “A sonnet expressing their displeasure, perhaps?” “Maybe a cutting limerick?” She grins with glee. “How about an abrasive haiku?” “A bad fortune cookie?” “All right.” Ed shakes his head. “If you need me, call me. You’ve got your cell?”

Repeat is out now and I cannot recommend it enough.



Purchase: Free on Kindle Unlimited



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page