top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review & Release Blitz: Great And Precious Things by Rebecca Yarros

Updated: Dec 28, 2020


I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

“I wore my grief like armor, a wall I refused to let crumble or weaken. She wore hers like art, a bold invitation to experience the loss with her, daring you to look away, daring you to forget that he’d lived. He’d loved her.”


Great And Precious Things is an extraordinarily beautiful contemporary romance by Rebecca Yarros, and a novel you do not want to mis


Six years ago when Camden Daniels came back form war without his younger brother, no one in the small town of Alba, Colorado, would forgive him- especially his father.

He left, swearing he would never return.


But a desperate message from his father brings it all back. The betrayal. The pain. And the need to go home again. But home is where the one person he still loves is waiting.

Willow.


The one woman he can never have, because there are secrets buried in Alba that are best left in the dark.


If only he could tell his heart to stay locked away when she whispers she’s always loved him, and always will.


“Of course not. He’s good, Mr. Daniels. He’s the best man I know, and you…” My breath shook as I exhaled. “You ruined him. And I don’t know if I can fix the parts you broke. He won’t let anyone in. And I have to get through to him, because he’s just so…” The words clogged my throat, threatening to choke me. “He’s so very lonely.”
“All great and precious things are lonely.”

Great and Precious Things is a phenomenal, heart wrenchingly perfect novel about love, loss and family.


I have been a huge fan of Rebecca Yarros since I picked up her first novel Full Measures in 2014 and with every new book I’m sure she couldn’t possibly outdo the last, and every time she does.


Great and Precious Things is such a beautiful novel and I loved the relationship between Camden and Willow and how naturally it seemed to progress, along with the intense and passionate chemistry between them.


“My heart hurt with how utterly devastating he was. Sure, “gorgeous” was a good word, especially when he opened his eyes, but his appeal was more than that. He was magnetic, which certainly repelled some, but never me. No, he drew me in like gravity, an undeniable, irrefutable force that anchored my world. A decade apart had taught me that I’d never break free of him, not really. It didn’t matter where I lived—gravity existed and held my feet to the earth. It didn’t matter who I dated—I’d always be drawn to Cam.”

One of my favourite aspects of the novel was Camden’s relationship with his father and his reason for returning to Alba was heart-wrenching. I loved how that unfolded throughout the novel with such a naturally paced and emotional provoking way that made my heart break for Camden and his father.


“Desperation and love make ordinary people do heroic things,” Dad said from behind us, moving to stand next to Willow at the edge of the unstable ledge. “You were never ordinary, and you had both.”

Great And Precious Things was such a flawlessly impeccable novel that as soon as I finished it I wanted to immediately start it again so I could continue to bask in the world & characters Rebecca Yarros has created.








Purchase:








About the Author:


I’m a hopeless romantic and adore all things chocolate, coffee and paleo. No, seriously, I need to have a caffeine IV put in. I’ve adored reading all my life, and writing naturally evolved from my love of late nights and promises of one more page.

I’m also a military wife of sixteen years. During my husband’s deployments to Iraq and Afghanistan, I was devouring a book a day, and during his third deployment, I finally wrote my own. With a somewhat ironic timing, I received my book deal for Full Measures during his fourth deployment, and published a month after he returned home. We’re currently preparing for his fifth deployment, so check out the blog for the latest!

On the homefront, we have six kids. Yes, you read that right—six. If I’m not writing or playing guitar, I’m usually tying hockey skates for our four boys, or sneaking in John Hughes marathons with my two daughters. We fostered and adopted our youngest daughter from the foster system and we’re passionate about helping others do the same through our non-profit, One October! We’re always busy navigating the winding road of our daughter’s recent autism diagnosis, getting our boys to hockey, prepping for a deployment, and generally trying to stay sane. We’re die-hard Mets fans, but our hearts call Colorado home.

If you’ve read all of that, haven’t fallen asleep, and still want to know more about me, check out my blog: http://www.rebeccayarros.com/blog!



Connect With Rebecca:




8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page