top of page
  • Writer's pictureGrace

Review: A Kingdom of Flesh And fire by Jennifer L Armentrout

Updated: Mar 24, 2021


I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.


“Created from the blood and ash of all those who fell before me. I have risen to take back what is mine. I’m who you call the Dark One,” he said, and chills danced across my skin. “Yes, I have the Maiden, and I’m not giving her back.”

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire is the outstanding second novel in Jennifer L Armentrout’s new fantasy series, From Blood and Ash.

Everything Poppy has ever believed is a lie, including the mane she was falling in love with. Thrust among those who see her as a symbol of a monstrous kingdom, she barely knows who she is without the veil of the Maiden. But what she does know is that nothing is as dangerous to her as him. The Dark One. The Prince of Atlantia. He wants her to fight him, and that’s one order she’s more than happy to obey. He may have taken her, but he will never have her.

Casteel Da’Neer is known by many names and many faces. His lies are as seductive as his touch. His truths as sensual as his bite. Poppy knows better than to trust him. He needs her alive, healthy, and whole to achieve his goals. But he’s the only way for her to get what she wants—to find her brother Ian and see for herself if he has become a soulless Ascended. Working with Casteel instead of against him presents its own risks. He still tempts her with every breath, offering up all she’s ever wanted. Casteel has plans for her. Ones that could expose her to unimaginable pleasure and unfathomable pain. Plans that will force her to look beyond everything she thought she knew about herself—about him. Plans that could bind their lives together in unexpected ways that neither kingdom is prepared for. And she’s far too reckless, too hungry, to resist the temptation.

But unrest has grown in Atlantia as they await the return of their Prince. Whispers of war have become stronger, and Poppy is at the very heart of it all.

“Why did you tell me?” I whispered, not even sure if he was still awake or why I was asking. He’d already answered. “Why did you have to tell me that Hawke was your middle name?”
The fire crackled, spitting sparks, and I closed my eyes.
Seconds, maybe minutes later, Casteel said, “Because you needed to know that not everything was a lie.”

I loved everything about this book. Everything. To the point where I’m struggling to write this review because I just keep getting overwhelmed by how much I loved it. I didn’t think anything could have been better than From Blood and Ash but Jennifer L Armentrout has somehow surpassed the first book and hit it out of the universe with this one.

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire is a captivating novel brimming with charismatic characters, fiery chemistry and a thrilling plot that will leave you speechless and craving more.

Almost all of Jennifer’s heroines are kick ass but Poppy is quite possibly the most kick ass heroine I’ve ever read. We got to see a quite a bit of that tenacity and fortitude in the first book but she really takes it to the next level in Kingdom of Flesh and Fire.

“Tell me, girl. What kind of bitch are you?” He lifted the club again, and I made my move. Shooting forward, I slipped under his arm and grabbed the dirty tunic. Thrusting the dagger up, I used every ounce of strength I had to drive it deep under his chin. “I’m this kind of bitch,” I growled.

The chemistry between Casteel (Hawke) and Poppy was just as explosive as it was in From Blood and Ash, probably even more so, and I loved getting to see them get to know one another now that all the cards were on the table and Poppy knew the truth about Hawke, as well as getting to see some of the sweeter, more vulnerable moments between the pair.

“Pretend?”
“We pretend that there’s no yesterday. No tomorrow. It’s just us, right now, and I can be Hawke,” he said in the heated space between us. I shook once more. He touched my cheek, sending a bolt of awareness through me. His fingers drifted over my chin, my lower lip. “You can just be Poppy, and we can simply share a kiss.” “A kiss?”
He nodded. “Just pretend.” His lips now a whisper against my cheek. “Just a kiss.”

I also loved the dynamic between Kieran and Poppy and getting to see them grow close and become friends.

A Kingdom of Flesh and Fire is out tomorrow, September 1st, and while my review hasn’t come close to doing this phenomenal novel justice, you NEED to check out this series.








Want To Connect With Me?

I can be found fangirling about books in the following places:



34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • TikTok
  • Twitter
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Facebook

© 2023 by The Book Lover. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page